TENNESSEE

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Thursday, November 9, 2023

Governor Lee, Commissioner McWhorter Announce Downtown Improvement Grant Recipients

- 17 grants totaling more than \$4 million
- Funding supports improvements to building facades and outdoor public spaces

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Stuart C. McWhorter announced today the 17 Tennessee Main Street and Tennessee Downtowns communities that are recipients of Downtown Improvement Grants.

"I congratulate each of the recipients that have been awarded funding through the latest round of Downtown Improvement Grants," said Gov. Lee. "Tennessee's downtown districts and main streets are the focal point of our communities, and these grants will help attract new business and promote tourism at the local level."

More than \$4 million in Rural Economic Opportunity funding is being awarded to improve structures in Tennessee Downtowns and Main Street communities. Grants were awarded to organizations that illustrated the need for improvements and the ability to execute an effective design plan for building facades, wayfinding signage, gateways and streetscapes. As part of the program, each new grant recipient will be required to match 25-percent of the funding received.

"Tennessee would not be known for its exceptional quality of life if it weren't for the leaders across our state that have chosen to invest in their main streets and downtown districts," said Commissioner McWhorter. "These 17 communities have a better chance at securing new investment and spurring job creation because of the Downtown Improvement Grants, and we are proud to partner with them in their revitalization efforts."

Communities receiving Downtown Improvement Grants are:

- Bristol, Sullivan County, \$300,000
- Cleveland, Bradley County, \$300,000
- Dyersburg, Dyer County, \$300,000
- Elizabethton, Carter County, \$300,000
- Etowah, McMinn County, \$300,000
- Halls, Lauderdale County, \$206,250
- Johnson City, Washington County, \$300,000
- Lawrenceburg, Lawrence County, \$150,000
- Lewisburg, Marshall County, \$300,000



- Madisonville, Monroe County, \$300,000
- Martin, Weakley County, \$299,276
- McMinnville, Warren County, \$300,000
- Newbern, Dyer County, \$177,373
- Sevierville, Sevier County, \$159,600
- Smithville, DeKalb County, \$300,000
- Sweetwater, Monroe County, \$150,000
- Union City, Obion County, \$300,000

"We are excited that these 17 communities will benefit from the latest round of Downtown Improvement Grants and look forward to seeing how each city and town uses this opportunity for revitalization to create jobs and investment in their central business districts in the years to come," said TNECD Main Street Director Nancy Williams.

To be eligible for a Downtown Improvement Grant, communities had to submit an application and be a designated Tennessee Downtowns or Tennessee Main Street community. To learn more about the Downtown Improvement Grant Program, visit the website <u>here</u>.

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development's mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: <u>tnecd.com</u>. Follow us on <u>Twitter</u>, <u>Instagram</u> and <u>LinkedIn</u>. Like us on <u>Facebook</u>. Subscribe to our <u>YouTube</u> channel.

TNECD Media Contact

Lindsey Tipton Public Information Officer (615) 339-6608 Lindsey.Tipton@tn.gov

###

